Faculty and Staff

An Accomplished and Accessible Faculty

The Department’s stature in political science is reflected in the quality and reputation of its faculty.
The Department’s faculty have extensive records of producing high
impact, theoretically and methodologically rigorous research. The faculty have authored or co-authored 18 books and published another 21 edited, text, or reference books. Twenty-one of these 39 books were published by university presses. Among our faculty are a SUNY Distinguished Service Professor, two UB Distinguished Professors, and faculty with many other recognitions of achievements.

Faculty have published more than 100 book chapters and 250 articles in scholarly journals. Of these articles, nearly 100 have been published in journals ranked among the top 25 in the political science. These include the American Political Science Review, American Journal of Political Science, Journal of Politics, World Politics, British Journal of Political Science, Comparative Politics, Comparative Political Studies, Political Research Quarterly, Political Science Quarterly, Public Opinion Quarterly, Journal of Conflict Resolution, International Studies Quarterly, Legislative Studies Quarterly, and American Politics Research among others. Collectively the faculty have an impressive 21 articles published in what are considered by many to be the top three journals in the discipline: the APSR, AJPS, and JOP.

To find out more about each member of the faculty, click on their names below.

For faculty office hours, click here.

To find out more about the Deparment’s history, including a roster of faculty since 1962, click here.

 

Faculty

James Coleman Battista
Associate Professor

American Politics

Ph.D., Duke University

jbattist@buffalo.edu
716-645-8438

Michelle A. Benson

Associate Professor

International Politics.

Ph.D., Claremont Graduate School

mbenson2@buffalo.edu

716-645-8448

James E. Campbell
UB Distinguished Professor

American Politics
Ph.D., Syracuse UniversityBKEagles05_000

jcampbel@buffalo.edu
716-645-8452

Vesna Danilovic

Associate Professor

International Politics.
Ph.D., University at Buffalo, SUNY
vesna@buffalo.edu
716-645-8443

 

D. Munroe Eagles

Professor

Comparative Politics

Director of the Canadian Studies Program

Ph.D., University of California, Irvine
eagles@buffalo.edu
716-645-2711

Stephen Halpern
Professor

Public Law
Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University
shalpern@buffalo.edu
716-645-8446

Rachael K. Hinkle

Assistant Professor

Public Law

Washington University in St. Louis

rkhinkle@buffalo.edu

716-645-8437

Jacob Kathman

Associate Professor

Comparative PoliticsBKLamb05_001

Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
kathman@buffalo.edu

716-645-8445

Charles M. Lamb
Professor

Public Law
Ph.D., University of Alabama
clamb@buffalo.edu
716-645-8441

Elena McLean

Associate Professor

International & Comparative Politics
Ph.D., University of Rochester

elenamcl@buffalo.edu
716-645-5444

 

Jacob Neiheisel

Assistant Professor

American Politics

University of Wisconsin-Madison

jacobnei@buffalo.edu

716-645-8439

Harvey D. Palmer
Department Chair and Director of Graduate Studies

Associate Professor

American and Comparative Politics

Ph.D., University of Rochester

hpalmer@buffalo.edu

716-645-8449

Claude E. Welch, Jr.
SUNY Distinguished Service Professor

Comparative Politics
Ph.D., Oxford University

cwelch@buffalo.edu
716-645-8434

Antoine Yoshinaka
Associate Professor

American and Comparative Politics
Ph.D., University of Rochester
antoiney@buffalo.edu

716-645-8435

Frank C. Zagare
UB Distinguished Professor

International Politics
Ph.D., New York University
fczagare@buffalo.edu

716-645-8442

 

back to top

 

Emeritus and Retired Faculty

Frederic J. Fleron, Jr.
Professor Emeritus

Comparative Politics, Politics of the USSR and Russia, Political Culture and the Politics of Technology.
Ph.D., Indiana
ffleron@buffalo.edu

Stephen Halpern
Professor Emeritus Public Law
Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University
shalpern@buffalo.edu

John C. Lane

Professor Emeritus
Western European Politics, Comparative Political Institutions, Comparative Constitutional Law, Maltese Elections.
Ph.D., Columbia University

psclane@buffalo.edu

Jerome Slater

Professor Emeritus
International politics, American Foreign Policy, and International Security.
Ph.D., Princeton University
jnslater@buffalo.edu

 

 

Staff

Jeanine McKeown

Senior Staff Assistant

mckeown3@buffalo.edu

Mary E. O’Brien

Graduate Coordinator

meobrien@buffalo.edu

Pamela Menshel

Undergraduate Coordinator

pamela@buffalo.edu

 

 

back to top